The new B2C; Business to Community

Thank you photo

Blake students say ‘Thank You’ to sponsors of their Fun Fair

When we think about businesses supporting communities, it’s easy to think about large corporations, but it’s equally important, maybe more so to realize the contribution of small business. After all the owners usually live and work in the community, giving them a personal connection to what they support.

Local businesses contribute in a number of ways including donating money, products and services, sponsoring events or local sports teams, and contributing employees’ time. In fact, according to the Canadian Federation of Independent Business (CFIB), 75% of businesses donate money, products and services.

They also say that the sectors that gave the most back to its communities were retail and hospitality. This is not surprising, they are the most public facing businesses so the community relates to them the most.

I’m sure there’s no end to the requests that they receive, which is why I was so grateful to the businesses that were more than happy to donate money, gift cards or products to the Family Fun Fair at my son’s school.

Even before my son started school, when I saw a sign of support for a local school or charity, I was happier to shop there. I appreciate it when they post thank you notes from schools and charities that they support on their community wall. The value in the contribution isn’t purely altruistic, but serves to let you know they are a member of the community. When I approached businesses for the Fun Fair, I largely went to places I personally frequent. That being said, seeing all the different businesses that contributed will make me more inclined to give them my business in the future.

Thanks to the efforts of the fundraising committee, over 250 local businesses to contributed cash, products and services. This included restaurants, kids’ activities, and real estate agents to retailers and fitness studios. Combined with personal and corporate donations, ticket sales AND amazing weather, we successfully raised over $10,000 that day. Not bad for the school’s third year running the event!

We do our best to promote their support at the fair to give them the attention they deserve. This year I started a Twitter thank you campaign to show our appreciation for some of our sponsors. I even received recognition for being the ‘Lucky Twitter social’ winner from one of the sponsors. It was so much fun interacting with our sponsors on Twitter, I plan to do more next year!

2 thoughts on “The new B2C; Business to Community

  1. Hi Carla,

    During my last 10 years of professional life and career, almost every company/bank I worked for we have used CSR as a strategic business decision to support our communities and as result of our sustainability strategy. These are our people and our main business purpose is to service people and therefore, we had to give back to our society and our people.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Carla, congratulations on the success of your event! When I see a business that supports the community, it does makes me feel better about giving them my business. I think your Twitter campaign was a great idea.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

